Identity. 

1. Who are you? 

2. What do you want to do? 

We are often ask the second question. Everyone wants to know what you want to do in life. The first question is more personal. 

Who we are is tied into our identity. Often times our identity is intertwined with where we are.

I had the opportunity to meet with Larry Gossett a Kings County Councilmember. From the little time I spent with him I like Larry Gossett. He seems to be a good person and a good citizen. When one of the students ask Mr. Gossett why he became a councilmember his answer was simple: He was born and raised in Seattle and he wanted to help his city. 

This is how I feel about my island and my country Eleuthera, Bahamas. I see a need for development on my island and I want to help. I think that I can help. I can’t answer the question who are you without including Eleuthera.

I am an island girl who wants to help her island and has rediscovered my love for my county. 

I am a lot of things but right now I am content with the above mentioned answer. 

So I ask you, Who are you? 

  

One thought on “Identity. 

Leave a comment